“Hip Hop Hooray” is one of the biggest hits from Naughty By Nature.

The song spent one week at number one on the US R&B chart and reached number eight on the US Pop chart. It contains samples from “Funky President” by James Brown, “Don’t Change Your Love” by Five Stairsteps, “Make Me Say it Again, Girl” by Isley Brothers, “You Can’t Turn Me Away” by Sylvia Striplin, “74 Miles Away” by Cannonball Adderley Quintet, and “Sledgehammer” by Peter Gabriel.

The music video was directed by Spike Lee, who also appears in it. Queen Latifah, Eazy-E, Monie Love, Da Youngsta’s, Kris Kross, and Run-DMC also make appearances in the video.

Naughty By Nature "Hip Hop Hooray" (1993)

The post Naughty By Nature “Hip Hop Hooray” (1993) appeared first on Hip Hop Golden Age.